Holiday snapshots

dscf0697.jpgdscf0711.jpgdscf0653.jpgdscf0644.jpgdscf0663.jpgdscf0637.jpgdscf0851.jpgdscf0842.jpgdscf0822.jpgdscf0852.jpg    Clockwise from top left: Tate Modern museum, London, Tent London atTruman Brewery; Trashluxe at Liberty; Trashluxe; Lomowall at Trafalgar square; Ashlee and me; Homoludens at Kunsthal; colourful bike in Amsterdam; Campana Brothers at V&A museum; a museum in Rotterdam (can’t remember the name now!)

Better late than never… I’ve finally managed to sort out my holiday pix taken during my visit to the UK and Holland in Sep/Oct. The LomoWorld Wall at the Trafalgar Square was one of the most beautiful sights open to the public,as part of the London Design Festival 2007. I’ve always been fascinated by lomography. When I was 12, I was presented a lomography camera (I think it was a Holga), but sadly I couldn’t quite get the hang of it.  

The Campana Brothers installation that looked like a bamboo maze, at the Victoria and Albert Museum grounds remained true to their eco-friendly, reminiscent of the Favela chair theme; the Trashluxe exhibition at Liberty curated by Dezeen editor Marcus Fairs (formerly the editor of Icon) where I met very talented Dutch designer Ineke Haans; my lovely friend Ashlee Moratorio at the B&B Italia event where Zaha Hadid was the star attraction; Tent London at the Truman Brewery in the curry-licious Brick Lane.

On my first ever visit to Holland, I went to check out famous Dutch designer Richard Hutten’s Homoludens exhibition at the Kunsthal in Rotterdam designed by Rem Koolhaas. While in Amsterdam, I was very impressed with the bicycle culture. Can you imagine riding a cycle in Dubai??? What was really fascinating was how creative people get with the humble mode of transport- added baby strollers, flowers, candy-floss paint, everything adds to the charm.

I am thinking about my next destination…

1 Comment

Filed under Art/culture, Design, Events

One response to “Holiday snapshots

  1. Thanks for information.
    many interesting things
    Celpjefscylc

Leave a Reply

